Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global trade has always played a vital role in wellbeing of humans in all societies. Some people believe that the amount of crops imported from overseas ought to be negligible and the entire demand must be satisfied by local farmers. I strongly agree with this opinion because both local producers and a government benefit from a limited import.

Firstly, local producers suffer from food arriving from other countries that possess sufficient reserves. This means that the revenue of domestic agricultural companies drops in a presence of international competitors. Therefore, a number of citizens lose their wealth and jobs, which in its turn afflict(inflict) a damage to the economy. For example, according to the report of the University of New York, the massive import of wheat from China entailed destitution among local farmers in 2010. In other words, inner crop suppliers thrive from the regulated competition with foreign companies.

Secondly, authorities will be able to guarantee the required population's need in food consumption, if they rely on local farming. In case of an unstable political situation the number of imported crops may be significantly reduced in order to force senators to undertake unfavourable decisions. Hence, their popularity among the citizens that have election rights will diminish. For instance, the heavy dependence on Russian oat in Germany in 18th century led to the agricultural crisis and famine after the Napoleon war had broken out. Thus, a government is sensitive to foreign participation on a local market of crucial goods.

In conclusion, I truly believe that the import of food is the bane for any country due to the drawbacks for its farmers and the government.