When cars and cyclists use the same roads, there are often problems.

Why is this the case?

What are the solutions?

Public infrastructure has always been playing a vital role in the development of every society. A number of issues arise during roads utilization by motorists and cyclists simultaniously. This essay will discuss the main sources of this problem as well as propose some feasible approaches to tackle them.

When cars and bicycles occupy road lanes, the conflict of interests unavoidable due to different speed abilities, sizes and behaviour of mentioned transport modes. This means that every car will inevitably be blocked by a cyclist at some point and will not be able to proceed driving with comfortable speed, which is much higher for cars. Therefore, the usage of public roads becomes inefficient for participants that possess faster means of transportation. For example, according to the report of the public authorities of Munich the average speed on city roads diminished after cyclists were allowed to ride on them, which provoced massive delays in the public transport system in 2001. In other words, an equal access to roads for motortransport and bicycles entails uneffectiveness of vehicles.

In order to address the above-mentioned aspect, the public roads should be properly divided between different users. This includes creation of separate cycle lanes between roads and pavements, so cars can easily navigate through cities without being disturbed by slow bicycle users. Hence, the average speed of drivers remain fast, allowing reduction of time of a ride and costs of vehicle maintenace. For instance, introduction of cycle roads in Berlin led to the increase of speed on the roads in the city centre in 2005. Thus, this separation of different types of transport may drastically improve the experience of every participant.

In conclusion, this essay highlighted the primary reasons behind conflicts on the roads and suggested a viable solution to resolve them.