Genetic engineering is a dangerous trend. It should be limited.

To what extent do you agree?

Genetically modified organisms have become a common phenomenon in modern life. This, however, poses a threat to the health of its consumer; therefore, genetic engineering should be heavily regulated by authorities. Although GM crops are cheaper in production, I strongly believe, that every food ought to be prohibited before its safety is proven by scientists.

From one side, genetic engineering allows to significantly reduce expenses during of agricultural industries. This can be achieved by targeted changes in the DNA of an organism, giving it a property that is desired by a farmer. This means that food suppliers are able to increase a size of a plant, to make it resistant against insects, to extend the freshness period, which entail the reduction of the final price in a grocery store. For example, according to the New York Times survey, genetically modified food costs 40 per cent less on average in the United States of America. Thus, this technology can safe a significant amount of earnings to regular citizens.

However, gene engineering is a very recent field of study that does not possess enough evidence regarding its negative effects on human bodies. Moreover, as new methods of gene modification are developed each year, the verification of different possible effects on people that consume GM food become more complicated. Therefore, the massive production of each GM plant should be allowed only after careful research on its influence on human health, which should be a primary goal of every government. For instance, the golden rice, which is a genetically modified regular rice that was introduced in Indonesia two years ago, caused a number of deaths last year. In other words, every food has to be tested by a reputable institution before it is supplied.

In conclusion, genetical engineering may be the boon for society due to its ability to get desired properties, but I think that the regulation of this industry is necessary.