Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Stress has always been a part of any success story. Nowadays, young individuals tend to be stressed more than the older generation. I am of the opinion that modern lifestyle implies a considerably higher number of stress sources due to the increasing variety of leisure activities and recent advancements in the area of communication.

Overall, it is clearly seen that recent developments in various social areas, such as entertainment, has broadened our possibilities, which force the younger generation to desire more consumables than their parents. Therefore, individuals that were grown in abundance in past decades require more funds to satisfy all their needs. This means that these people apply for a job more frequently, take additional responsibilities in order to get a promotion or increase their salary, which entails less attention to their mental state. For example, according to the New York Times survey, anxiety is diagnosed twice more it today's school graduates in comparison to the previous century. Thus, youngsters are under a significantly bigger quantity of stress in oppose to their parent's adolescence.

Another aspect that facilitates the above-mentioned phenomenon is huge progress in a way people communicate, which helps to spread information and, therefore, causes of stress faster. The internet allows to exchange information, such as video content with modern trends or messages from people from another part of the world instantly, in comparison to much slower regular mail, widely used before. Therefore, youngsters are under heavier pressure in terms of lifestyle, which cause additional stress on them. For instance, fashion trends are more volatile than 20 years ago, according to the the Vogue magazine. In other words, today's young individuals change their lives more frequent.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the opinion that teenagers lives has become more stressful because of a higher number of activities, boosted by instant communication.