In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is thought that the best effort is the exclusive condition leading to individual’s success in some countries. For me, this statement has both perks and drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are numerous benefits when children are told to strive to acquire great achievements. Firstly, this message really does wonders for young adults’ mind. In fact, it helps them have courage and motive to achieve successes. More specifically, children are able to understand that there is no way round to acquire something magnificent without endeavor. Secondly, children can persevere with their goals and dreams instead of quitting in accordance with this message. Indeed, unlike other children, those who are told this message have a tendency of making their best to move on and go forward to accomplish themselves and in particular never rest on their laurels.

On the other hand, everything has two sides: the good and the bad and there is also a large number of disadvantages this message brings to children that needs taking into thorough consideration. Firstly, forcing adolescents to strive to achieve goals accidentally places a heavy burden on their shoulders. That they always have to focus on their objectives to live up to expectations of their parents or relatives can make come down with not only psychological and physical illnesses such as depression, autism and the like. Secondly, another dark side of this message is that it can indirectly have a negative impact on children’s psychology and make them become more and more competitive, ambitious and even greedy. For example, when they cannot attain achievements as great as their friends, they instantly either feel disappointed and pessimistic or become jealous of their friends’ accomplishments. As a result, it is possible that they can be ready to do anything at all cost, even immoral ones to become better than anyone else.

In general, sparing no effort to succeed is both beneficial and harmful for children’s behavior so older people like parents should have a suitable guidance for them to have all-round development.