These days, a great number of children prefer spending time on computer games rather on sports. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the figure for children who would rather play games than play sports is significantly increasing. Personally, i believe this is a negative development.

Spending too much time on playing video games is caused by some following reasons. Firstly, games are more interactive and available than sports. That is because there are more and more companies built to earn money from magnifying and advertising games on some social media such as Instagram, Facebook or Zalo. Therefore, children can easily find interesting games on the Internet to play when they have free time. The second is that video games are much easier for teenagers to play. For instance, just by downloading games into their computers or smart phones, they can play it anywhere and anytime without doing physical exercises like playing sports.

From my perspective, computer games can bring children a lot of detrimental effects. Firstly, focusing too much on games can have a negative impact on teenagers' health as well as their mind. In fact, there is a mixed variety of diseases they can get such as short-sighted, backache, headache or psychological problems like depression, autism and so on. Furthermore, playing video games too frequently can lead to some severe social issues. For example, many recent studies show that nearly 30 percent of crimes nowadays is related to people who are addicted to games.

To sum up, playing games too much more than sports can cause a lot of drawbacks. I personally believe that this trend should be prevented to ensure the proper development of children.