Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods while others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In this day and age, the usage of packaging of products is always a topic of interest. While it is argued that the main factor contributing to deplete the amount of packaging of commodities are manufacturers and supermarkets while others believe that customers are the only ones to be obliged for this issue. Although manufacturers and outlets are in charge of the process of devising packaged goods, I lean towards the latter.

On the one hand, manufacturers and markets are directly related to goods-packaging procedure. In fact, to guarantee the products’ quality and deter them from being exposed to detrimentally environmental factors such as moist or heat, companies tend to utilize plastic bags to package these goods, which can results in an abundant amount of plastic waste. Therefore, the burden of decreasing the great deal of packaging is recommended to put on their shoulders. For example, numerous food agencies have decided eradicate completely the packaging of goods or eschew plastics in favor of paper which are easier to be recycled in terms of products-packaging to minimize the adverse impact on the environment.

On the other hand, the obligation to plummet the quantity of packaged commodities is also said to belong to customers. That is because they have a preference of buying goods that are thoroughly packaged owing to their longer expiry date. As a result, they are likely to use them for a long time with the deteriorating quality. Moreover, customers also have a tendency of abusing to package things. Evidently, a large number of people use a massive capacity of plastic bags or other materials to package food, drink, leftover or wrap goods they purchase from supermarkets. The result of this is that the surroundings will be soon polluted with the non-biodegradable trash leading to an unhealthy life for individuals.

In conclusion, though manufacturers and supermarkets assume responsibility for packaging goods, purchasers are more under obligation to decline the amount of these products.