Qualities which a person needs to become successful in today’s world cannot be learnt at university or similar academic institutions. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

In this day and age, the ways to achieve success are always a topic of interest. It is believed that accomplishments in real life are only defined by special personal characteristics that are not learnt at schools or universities. Personally, I totally agree with this statement.

First of all, education nowadays don’t stay focused on teaching social skills which are considered as the indispensable parts of individual’s success. In fact, instead of caring about their interest and capability to bring them the most effective learning environment, teachers impart only abstract knowledge of all subjects in the syllabus to them and even force them to cram before every examination to get the highest scores. Therefore, they are likely to have little time spent on discovering themselves as well as honing their essential soft skills such as leadership, time management and communications skills. For example, Vietnamese universities downplay the unshaken importance of extracurricular activities which can contribute to the determination of personal traits so students are imposed to minimize the amount of time participating in those activities. The result of this is that nearly two-thirds students in Vietnam have no idea about their passions, dreams and even their courses taken at universities.

The second is that academic institutions don’t provide students with practical expertise and real experiment about their chosen fields. Evidently, they have got few opportunities to experience certain working environment or take apart in apprenticeship to broaden their horizon about their domains but only study general and boring knowledge from professionals. For instance, in accordance with digital sources of reliable news, numerous universities in Vietnam don’t have enough necessary facilities to give students the clearest view of vital working skills of their majors. Consequently, a large number of graduates are suffering from the risk of unemployment owing to their lack of job skills.

In conclusion, although schools and universities play an intrinsic role in the education of youngsters, I completely believe that breakthrough and resounding success cannot be achieved by studying at those educational places.