In the future, nobody will buy printed books or newspapers because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, we are living in the modern world with the proliferation of social media si it is said that the Internet and other kinds of the-state-of-the-art devices such as TV, laptops and more will become the dominant factors in the future when no books are needed any more. While I agree that the Internet will mostly bring people access to information, I believe that the conventional ways of reading are indispensable.

On the one hand, I believe that reading online will become prime way to gain knowledge. That is because the Internet provides us an easier access to sources of information about all aspects in life. Just by staying at home and typing words, we can find relevant information at a push of the button, which is extremely time and money-saving. Moreover, this way of reading is quite eco-friendly due to the fact that forests don’t have to be cut down for the production of paper. More specifically, when materials reading posted on numerous websites can easily and freely shared with other people via Twitter or Facebook.

On the other hand, I lean towards the opinion that books and other printed materials cannot be superseded completely. Firstly, books and newspapers are regarded as a reliable source of information. In fact, before publishing a book or a magazine, all of its contents have to be written by professional and well-qualified authors as well as have to be censored thoroughly to minimize the mistakes while a range of articles on the Internet can be written by people at all age and even having no qualifications so that it is understandable that a large number of people, especially the old don’t rely on this source of knowledge too much. Secondly, many people have a preference for holding and reading printed materials, which is more beneficial for the eyesight and mental health than sticking to computers and smart phones’ screen. Finally, the process of possessing knowledge while reading books helps us remember much longer than reading online because we have to endeavor more to read and classify information, which is more challenging than reading on the Internet. Therefore, the new-found knowledge will remain in our memory for a long time, which really does wonders for our studying.

In short, in spite of the scenario for the prevalence of cutting-edge technology, printed books will always play a vital part in our daily life.