Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Young people have had a tendency to defer their university enrollment to spend time travelling or working of late. This essay will argue that despite there being some dangers of low rate of learning progress, the benefits of being exposed to alien culture and resulting development of the teenagers far outweigh any drawbacks.

On the one hand, postponing signing up for university for one year can bring students a bunch of problems and ones of them are setbacks in their studying. Obviously, it is literally challenging for them to keep up with their peer’s pace because they are too engrossed in working or travelling during the gap year which has diverted their attention to other domains of working and entertainment but not lessons and teachers’ instruction. Consequently, their studying results can fall behind and deplete significantly. Moreover, those young people are unlikely to save up a great deal of money due to the fact that it is impossible for them to get a prohibitively lucrative job with only high school qualification. Instead, they might do some menial and manual work that are labor-intensive and have low wages.

On the other hand, a gap year taken before going to university can be a perfect chance for students to get life experience as well as hone soft skills. By being exposed to various culture and people from all over the world, the young can enhance their communication skills, leadership or management skills which they can apply in both daily life and their own future job. More specifically, in accordance with some digital sources of reliable news, about 75% students have little or even no knowledge of their chosen field. Therefore, a gap year off between school and university can create a springboard for them to get practical experience and knowledge related to their courses at university rather than abstract theoretical lessons from professionals. This can partially provide students with a supportive assistance to make the right decision of their dream job which is suitable for their personality, interests and strength.

To conclude, the opportunities given to teenagers and the chance to develop as a person far eclipse the supposed disadvantages of studying results when taking a gap year before going to university.