Many people feel that urban environments are more unhealthy than they have ever been. What do you think are the main causes of this problem? What measures can be effective in tackling this problem?

In this day and age, a large number of towns and large cities are experiencing the serious pollution which makes an adverse impact on human’s health. This situation is the direct result of several factors but many approaches exist to address this issue.

The staggering pace of urbanization as well as the great demand for ameliorating economic situation of each country contribute to the pollution of natural surroundings. Evidently, the vast area of forests cut down to make room for the erection of skyscrapers, hotels and the like shed light on the poor quality of atmosphere in numerous metropolises. Moreover, illegal manufacturing activities of various companies are also the primary factors leading to the contaminated nature. For example, a multi-billion dollar steel mill in Vietnam discharged tons of toxic chemicals and waste water into ocean through a secret sewage pipe, which resulted in the “mass fish deaths” phenomenon. The result of this is that not only does it affect negatively to the beauty of towns but it is also likely to deteriorate local residents’ health.

A long-term solution to this predicament is that the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the fundamentals of making the city environment healthier. In fact, children can be taught about how to conserve the nature through lessons. As a result, they can possibly teach their parents about the things they learnt at school and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. Japanese students are truly exemplary examples. Actually, they are taught about the consequences of climate change and global warming caused by people’s irresponsible activities so that they all know to classify different kinds of trash or use paper bags instead of plastic ones.

In conclusion, although cities nowadays less benefits human’s health, the root cause can be tackled with several simple strategies.