In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people believe that children should be advised to work so hard to get whatever they want. In my opinion, although this mindset can help children to become globally competitive, it has also negative results on the emotional and mental health of children. This essay will take a look at both sides of the argument.

On the one hand, it is true to believe that children are the hope of the nation, and teaching them to become passionate to strive for success is essential. By doing this, self-motivation and effort will be their weapons to achieve invincibility. A recent study shows that 70% of parents these days giving their children the mentality of hard work and perseverance as this is the only way to pursue their dreams. If children would be molded to become ambitious, their goal in life would be surely achieved in the future.

On the other hand, a competitive mindset has drawbacks in the children's well-being. Children can unconsciously suffer from a delusion of grandeur in which winning is considered as their only way to show the power and intelligence. Moreover, because of striving hard to achieve something, children could feel a sense of unfulfillment if the goal was not met which could lead to depression. An example of this nowadays is the insecurity and pressure for adolescents which are the leading cause of committing suicide. This only means that children should not be told to become perfectionist as it could be the reason for discontentment.

In conclusion, there is no denying that the mentality of being futuristic is important for children in achieving goals but parents should limit expectations. A mindset that just focusing on the brighter aspect of life is much better in molding children positively.