Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that the command of any musical instruments should be obligatory for children. However, I do not support this point of view. In my opinion, not all children are gifted to play a musical instrument and it would be better to develop different skills by optional.

To begin with, not all young people are talented in music and do not benefit from learning it, by contrast, it may deteriorate mental health. What I mean by this, being obligatory, musical lessons may not only become an extra pressure for students who are already overloaded with school subjects but also evoke an aversive feeling altogether increasing stress level. What is more, it can impact their self-esteem by doing what they cannot do by nature. For instance, poor sense of hearing or not enough flexible fingers to play the piano. Therefore, being forced to take compulsory musical lessons eventually give rise to an aversion and negative affect their mental health.

Turning to the other side of the argument, it is worth noticing the beneficial influence on the stable upbringings of the development of any skills whether be it music or maths. However, what kinds of abilities need to be taught should be decided by students themselves. This is because during training a plethora of difficulties might be faces. For instance, learning a lot of information, going through a considerable number of practices and passing exams. To put it another way, only perseverance, and inspiration from what activity is loved, can help overcome many hardships. Otherwise, it appears to add pressure on children that is not healthy for them.

In conclusion, although many educators hold the view that every child must be taught how to play a musical instrument, I completely disagree. I think it can bring about a detrimental effect on youth mental well-being, thus it would be useful to develop skills by optional.