Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many parents have their kids registered in musical instrument classes in the belief that this will give them a brilliant chance of self-development. I do not deny all of the possible advantages of learning to play a musical instrument at a child, but it should not be obligatory either, for some reasons detailed below.

Obviously, it is scientifically proven that children can benefit from learning a musical instrument at a young age. One of its greatest advantages is that music helps children stimulate their senses, creativity, and self-expression. According to scientist James Hudziak, children who had undergone musical training were found to have an increase in cortical thickness in the areas of the brain that dictate functions such as memory, organisation skills, and attention span. It brings another reasonable benefit: that children become patient during the learning process. With a specific target like musical instruments, children are able to stay focused on training themselves better than others do not.

However, despite the great benefits of learning to play an instrument at a young age, it should not be mandatory for every child. In fact, based on science-proven research of nine different types of intelligence, some children who are not born talented at sensing music could find it a burden. For example, a kid who is strongly interested in maths may not perform so well at playing a musical instrument, and vice versa. Hence, because of different talents, children can develop themselves in other areas, not just in playing musical instruments. They can develop themselves in other beneficial areas such as fine arts, plants, or languages, too.

In summary, I believe that encouraging children to learn to play a musical instrument is a good thing, but it should not be a must. Parents should spend time helping their kids discover their talents and strong points in order to find the best path of self-development.