Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some educationalist think that learning musical stuffs should consider as a mandatory subject for all students. I completely disagree with this statement as it can bear loads of hamper to the whole education system.

Making compulsory of an unimportant subject like music would convey loads of drawbacks to the system of a school. The first major problem is that the students will loose their attention from their main subject. Music is an enjoyable thing and playing the instruments of it is much more celebrating, and if pupils have the chance to play any kind of musical stuff into their school, their full attention will go to the class of music rather than concentrating in their main classes. Therefore, they will do a bad result in exams and fall their future into the vain.

Furthermore, musical instrument is so costly that it is harder or almost impossible for some family. In our region of Asia, most of the people are middle class and they would not like to purchase any items beyond their capacity. So, if the schools make this subject compulsory, most of the students belongs from average income family will leave schools resulted in the major part of the manpower will remain illiterate.

One the other hand, this music playing classes can be held on a separated place. For example, in our area, Bangladesh, there are numerous schools for dance classes and learning to play musical instruments. Therefore, the person who is willing to learn music go to that type of school.

In conclusion, forcing students to learn music at their school will not be a fair for a education system, it should be leave on students willingness.