Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.To what extent do you agree with this view?

While it is believed by some that a number of newer forms of marketing are immoral, other people consider this point of view simply as an over-reaction. Personally, I am in favor of supporting these contemporary advertising methods for their creativity and effectiveness in promoting products.

On the one hand, some people think that new approaches of marketing are unethical and dishonest as customers are manipulated to purchase a product without their full awareness of being advertised. For instance, some promoting campaigns employed groups of actors to pretend to be the members of the public to create a “buzz” or word of mouth around a product, which is considered to be deceptive. Moreover, the use of teenagers in promoting products without admitting that they are paid to arouse people's interest in a product is also dishonest and unacceptable as it can devastate trust and close relationships among people in communities.

On the other hand, I am with those who support that this negative viewpoint is an over-reaction and modern forms to promote products are inevitable in this competitive global market. Firstly, advertisers dedicate to creating new and fascinating ways to inform customers of their superior merchandise, which enables them to boost sales and maintain a competitive advantage. This leads to the fact that new marketing campaigns are far more entertaining and appealing to audience than traditional ones. Secondly, these contemporary strategies are argued by some people to be more efficient since they aim at creating words of mouth around a product and people tend to trust their friends’ recommendation.

In conclusion, although it is argued that modern forms of advertising are dishonest and should be controlled by more stringent laws, I believe that advertisers should be allowed to be creative to launch their products in this competitive economy.