Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views about the best age to start acquiring a completely new foreign language. In my opinion, it is more advantageous for young pupils to take up a second language at primary school, compared to any disadvantages this trend may bring.

Admittedly, taking part in language courses at primary levels brings some negative impacts on young children. Firstly, children at elementary levels are required to master other subjects such as maths, mother tongue and science for their regular examinations which determine their academic performance. As a result, they are obligated to spend a great deal of time to enhance their native tongue to comprehend the knowledge of these academic subjects, thus limit the amount of time spent on other voluntary language lessons. Secondly, learning a new language at this stage can delay the development of children’s first language. In other words, they can be confused between two languages and misuse them regularly, which can be time-consuming for them to distinguish differences and improve their language proficiency.

Despite the potential problems mentions above, I believe being bilingual at an early age is significantly more beneficial for children due to several reasons. First of all, young children are less self-conscious or intimidated, so they are not afraid of making mistakes or feeling ashamed of their pronunciation inaccuracy. Moreover, they are eager to imitate teachers’ intonation and enjoy communicative activities that are organized in classrooms. As a consequence, they pick up the pronunciation rapidly and progress at a more tremendous speed. In particular, many findings have revealed that children are similar to a sea sponge and able to master a language skill twice as fast as adults or teenagers, which suggests children immersing themselves in a new language as soon as possible.

In conclusion, while some people are opposed to the idea of training children to be bilingual at a young age, I strongly believe that the benefits of acquiring a new language at this age are more significant.