Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the era of globalisation and immigration, it is important to be welcoming towards people from different cultures and languages. Language especially plays a vital role since that is how we interact with one another. This is something for which a person can be prepared in advance by the means of including linguistic courses at various levels of education.

The kids at the primary school level can really surprise us when it comes to learning new things. Hence, the earlier language courses are introduced, the better. The students are much more open to new experiences at primary level as compared to the secondary level. The students of NCERT, an education board responsible for maintaining curriculum at levels below secondary has included several local languages such as Tamil, Telugu and Sanskrit as well as foreign like German and French. It also feels easier to pick a new language at an early age as the workload is quite less compared to a senior student. The inclusion of a new language also develops lateral thinking of a person so it is also contributing to overall personality and brain development.

The student varies their priorities as they grow with the ones in secondary school are more concerned about their future as they finish schooling. During that time, many parents also believe the focus of a sciences stream student should remain over preparing for the college entrance exams and scoring well in the final exams. Students hesitate to choose an optional language course which increases their workload so it’s a moot point to introduce the course at the secondary stage.

Knowledge of a foreign language, however, adds value to a person’s skills irrespective of when it is introduced. The courses can be introduced at a higher level but being pragmatic about it, only a few students are going to opt for it which discourages the school to hire a language teacher for a small number of students. That being said, it is more advantageous to learn it outright during the primary level. Things we learn at a younger age stays with us for a long time.