Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is a scientific agreement that taking up a second language at earlier ages of primary school would bring more advantages than secondary school. Apparently, this belief has its own pros and cons which need taking into account before any conclusions. For the sake of children, despite existing some good points, down sides of this view exceed with more prolonged repercussion.

First of all, it is undoubtedly indispensable that earlier preparation can lead to better development. Kids who have exposure to foreign languages could build linguistic habits and adaption; therefore, they are equipped with agility to get acquainted to new knowledge. Furthermore, it plays a critical role of educating pupils about culture since languages are representative for civilisations. This method could be considered as a way to broaden the children' horizon and seize the opportunity for them to become global citizens.

On the other hand, studying new languages might be not suitable at this time and exerts detrimental impacts on the growth of kids. The upper most reason is that they had better learn to use the mother tongue language fluently before pursuing any others. Young kids are at the age of improving their ability so that parents and schools are in need of pondering whether it is vital or not. Moreover, primary schools obtain missions to educate pupils with cognitive and life skills to solve the problems in any situations. They will form good calibre and behaviour for young generations, which is at more paramount importance. Finally, foreign languages should be categorised as optional subjects in order to lessen the scores pressure and bring chances for pupils to growing up physically and enjoying their childhood.

In conclusion, studying new languages in secondary school could be more effective and conductive rather than in primary school. Thus, parents and schools have to carefully think before teaching them at such small ages.