Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working a for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, education chiefly focuses on social merit of students rather than in other scientific fields. Therefore, there is a widespread belief that high school curriculum should include some volunteer community service as a compulsory part. From my perspectives, this would definitely bring certain benefits to both children and society.

First and foremost, these programmes seize bigger opportunities for scholars to immense themselves in life experience. Activities such as running a charity, enhancing the neighbourhood or being a sport instructor require them to obtain leading and bonding skills as well as know how to host an event smoothly. This knowledge is not provided in theoretical classes and students have to undergo in person to reach these levels and become more mature. Furthermore, attending volunteer works gives chances to get exposure to more people and afterwards, it would boost their confidence to communicate and widen the relationships. It is apparent that some extra curriculum activities or field trips raise teenagers' awareness of their responsibilities towards society.

On the other hand, unpaid community service is an effective way to improve social welfare from the young resources. It is worth noting that the youngster nowadays have less care about the outside world and become more nonchalant with other people who need help. Unless these programmes are implemented, students will lose their sense of duty and the social bond will be exerted negative impacts, Some activities may be held in local extent but their influences would spread in the whole community.

Having manifested through the aforementioned opinions, the value of volunteer service is undoubtedly indispensable. They not only form students as social citizens but also greatly contribute to the development of the community.