Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a universities should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful for an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

In our contemporary life, universities provide a great number of opportunities for students to grab necessary knowledge and experiences to take up their dream job. There is a continuous debate about the true purposes of colleges that whether they should only supply and equip their graduates with radical skills in office or all general qualifications. Nevertheless, both are ascribed to be complementary ingredients in the recipe of educating accomplished workers.

First and foremost, in the world full of stiff competition, students should be adept at vital skills and underlying knowledge at work. Therefore, universities have to guide them and offer the closest curriculum as well as vocational program, so that it will be easier for the graduates to get acquainted to the workplace atmosphere. For instance, they not only need to be fluent in the specialized job but also have to perceive the right mannerism and adjust their attitudes professionally. It is indispensable for all students to form calibre and sustainable vision of their future occupations.

On the other hand, colleges are believed to teach their students to become good citizens before training to be talented employees. As a result, they all had better absorb social knowledge to build the fundamental skill in the real life, such as ethical behavior, health or even political conceptions. Furthermore, students who are given access to the general education will have orientations to the most suitable career path based on their abilities and conditions.

Having manifested through all aforementioned ideas and examples, both given academic instructions from the universities bring different advantages to the graduates to prosper in the future. However, all college students are at the ages that can conceive and make their own decisions to utilize the school value totally.