Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In school students learn a lot of new things which can help them in their future however there has is a debate on what is the right time to teach certain topics to them. As per the statement of some people think teaching languages other than native language is important in primary school instead of secondary. I agree with the statement as there are many advantages of teaching foreign language in primary school than a disadvantage. I would like to elaborate on my stance in the essay further.

Firstly, in primary school children are in the age where they are required to learning new things and they have time and ability to cope up with the new language being taught unlike for the adult who have other things to worry about and have less time, so it will be tough for them to devote time in learning new language.

Also, primary students are in the stage of their life where they are still figuring out what are the things they are interested in like science, arts or literature. So according to me they should be exposed to new language in the primary level, this will give them clear idea of subjects they want to study in the secondary school.

Teaching foreign language in primary school can be a disadvantage for few people who will not be taking the literature in future and are not planning to work in any international platform. Also, few students who are weak in their studies, for them it will be burden to study on extra language and take coaching classes.

So there are more advantages than disadvantage in my opinion. So it is best to add foreign language in the primary school curriculum rather than secondary school.