"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

I partially agree with the issue, where the author says the best way of preparing our young generation for the field of government or private industry is via installing a sense of cooperation and not competition. I would like to discuss my stand further in the essay.

Firstly, why a competition is created? it is created to choose the best person who will be suitable to do the job successfully. India has a huge population, more than hundreds of engineering college are present in one state itself, the number of people graduating from these college are more than thousands. However the job scenario is not the same. There are limited companies and limited job so there has to be some level of competition to select the best mind and the suitable person for the role. So that every individual gets chance to showcase their skills.

Cooperation can cause inequality. Consider if there is a student who recently graduated from a college in some rustic are of the country. He does not know many people from the industry or he does not have good connections with any one in the industry, so he might lack a change to get the job. In comparison if you talk about a person who has stayed in the city and knows many multinational workers, he might get the job even if he is not qualified enough, however he may get the job just due to the cooperation he had between him and his multinational company friend.

Although cooperation is not always deleterious, it is beneficial for a person to grow. When you have entered the industry after competing with thousands of student. You would need some guidance from your seniors to perform in the industry so if the seniors and you colleagues are cooperative you grow faster in the industry.

So both cooperation and competition is necessary for the young might to progress in the government or private industry.