A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The author orrates that a person should be allowed to have his or her civil right if they have knowingly broken the social contract. I disagree with the statement, even though the person has committed crime they are still human and they should be given their rights. Yes i agree that they should be punished but taking away their civil rights will be too extreme. I would like to elaborate my stance by giving reason in the essay further.

Firstly i would like to cite an example of a juvenile who is orphan and is left on street for surviving, they do not have sense of what is right or wrong. These kids dont even have money to feed themselves. Someday out of hunger if they go and knowingly steal food from a store and they are taken away by the police authority. Do you think taking away their civil right is correct ? No, i agree that they should be punished so that these kids realise that what they did was wrong and stealing in no way is justify-able. Instead we should send them to reforming school or juvenile jail where they are given education or are taught some skills to survive when they do outside the jails. These kids should be given chance to reform rather than taking away their rights and make them helpless for life time.

Another example would be of a person who has been suspected for a crime and it has not been proved that they have harmed anyone. So there are time when their lawyer have to take side of the person who has committed the crime and they know that they are defending a prospect criminal but they still do it since it is their job to defend the person who has hired them. You cannot take the lawyers degree just because he was doing his work of lawyering for a prospect. It is the authority of the judge to decide if the person was guilty or not

So according to me the criminal should be punished however, taking away social rights are too extreme. What if the criminal has improved or amended his deeds. Taking away his social right will make him suffer for his whole lifetime.