Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The argument stated by author is based biased assumption. Unless these all assumptions are addressed we cannot corroborate the argument.

First, the author states that during late night more national news is shown but does not verify the exact time or the time-frame when the national news is covered. If the national news is shown after 12 PM or even later, there will not be much audiences to view it and so it should not impact the news industry.

Also, again the author does not mention the number of viewers who had reported complains. There can be a case where only four or five viewers raised the issue with the content shown. Furthermore, the author does not mention what exactly is the issue reported by the customers, although it was as the same time when the news channel was showing more national news at the late night slot, but we cannot verify the customer’s concerns were regarding the national news. The complains could be because of more advertisement or less authentic news.

Later, the author mentions that the advertisement contracts are being cancelled, however there is not any fact provided that why is the contract cancelled. It can be because the advertisement company does not agree with the price that the news company has asked them for.

So there are many such facts not mentioned in the argument and we would need more evidences to verify the claims of the author. Including the answers and evidence required, the argument can be definitely strengthened.