Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

It is observed that some parents purchase a multitude of toys for their children. This approach to parenting has both benefits and drawbacks, which will be elaborated on in the following essay.

Those given interesting objects to play with at a young age are considered as fortunate for several reasons. Firstly, apart from pure joy, toys can stimulate a number of positives in children. For instance, solving puzzles facilitates brain development while color recognition benefits from interacting with colorful items. Educational toys are also of great use and considerate parents often select suitable toys to speed their children’s acquisition of the alphabet, different shapes and basic calculations.

The drawbacks of showering children with toys, however, should not be overlooked. Being surrounded by tempting objects all the time can reduce a child’s attention span, in the long term making it difficult for them to sustain their focus. Also, without proper instructions and a regular influx of new things to play with, children could be overstimulated, becoming easily disinterested in toys or developing the habit of constantly asking for newer ones. On a social side, those with more toys could be the target of their peers’ envy, as the former are perceived to have more possessions. Lastly, toys pose safety risks for young children, since these items could be small-sized or made of harmful chemicals, unsafe for ingestion.

Stemming from the arguments above, there are indeed both pros and cons to buying children a range of playthings. Parents should be mindful of both sides and balance the quantity of such fascinating objects and how they are practically used.