Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society Describe the advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion

Many people believe that death penalty is necessary to prevent violent crimes, whereas, others disagree

the statement, as they contend that nobody has the rights to kill others. Although, I believe that capital

punishment is obligatory to prevent brutal crimes, still I will discuss about its pros and cons in this essay.

To commence with, let us discuss about the advantages of death sentence. There are many brutal

crimes that are happening in the society like child sexual abuse, rape and murder. Criminals who commit

these cold-blooded crimes are not afraid of the law, as those horrible mistakes would not cost their life.

Hence, they commit these mistakes repeatedly, endangering innocent lives. To end these cruel acts,

governments must reconstitute their laws to sentence death penalty for these crimes. In a recent

horrific incident at Delhi, India, a group of four criminals had brutally gang ranged a 23-year-old woman,

when she was back to her home in a private bus. This terrible incident shook the country and made its

citizens to realize the need for capital punishments.

On the other hand, there are few drawbacks with these judicial murders too. As the society is

completely biased based on power and wealth, there are a lot of chances for the impoverished and

innocent people to get trapped. For example, if any wealthy person commits a mistake, he can bribe the

officers to trap an innocent in his place. Hence, an innocent would be killed, which is completely against

the main guiding principle of the Indian law; ‘Let a hundred guilty be acquitted, but one innocent should

not be convicted’. Thus, the entire judicial system would be questioned. Moreover, the human rights

commission argue that nobody has the rights to kill anyone and even criminals deserve a second chance.

To conclude, although death penalty can cause the life of an innocent, still it can save many from the

hands of these criminals.