Some people argue that the government should spend money on public services and facilities but not on the arts Do you agree or disagree

It is considered that services and facilities for wider population rather than the arts should be financially supported by the government. I partly agree with this opinion, due to the significance of the system serving the public, however, the arts also plays an important role in this system.

Firstly, I believe that the power holders should invest money in serving citizens in forms of providing facilities and infrastructures. These services are essentially needed by everyone in a society and can only be established by the government, whose job is collecting the tax to support the public. People need to be supported for their daily lives in terms of accommodation, transportation, healthcare, education and food catering. These facilities are usually large amount of buildings, roads in and between cities, underground railways, built with well organised management and big expenditure. Given tax money monthly by the population, it is the decision makers’ responsibility to be in charge of managing fund into public services, making sure people’s donations meet their true interests.

However, some argued that the public interests do not include the arts, so that it should not be funded by the government. I do not agree with that as I think the arts considerably facilitate the citizens in various ways. Art spaces such as museums, art galleries, musical halls often are the most popular locations in cities, entertaining overwhelming numbers of population every year. Art education is chosen by more and more youngsters, for its multicultural knowledge deepening students’ understanding into public society. To serve the public better, the government should support art spaces and education, as they are demanded part of the majority.

In conclusion, the government’s expenditure should cover public services and facilities, as well as the arts, because they benefit a wide ranges of population and can only be managed by large funds.