Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and will use up the world’s resources. Do you agree and disagree?

The issue of the impact of air travel on the environment has heated up in recent years, following the concern that more and more people turn to it as a means of travel. Restrictions have been preferably imposed on air travel, according to some people. There are some points in their argument.

The first is that aircrafts have been responsible for a large proportion of air pollution. Planes, either idling and taxiing, contribute a large proportion of local emission annually. Some might suggest that air is the only suitable mode of transport for long distance trips. This viewpoint is fallacious. Trains, for instance, serve as an optimal alterative, consuming less energy and causing less pollution

As well as air pollution, aircrafts can cause noise pollution. Although it is difficult to measure the actual impact of noise on people’s everyday lives, its ability to increase the anxiety and levels of annoyance has been confirmed. Especially to those living in the neighborhood of an airport and around the flight paths, noise created by aircrafts is indeed a headache.

Although travelling by air is likely to cause problem, it is not to say that air travel should be significantly restricted. Alternatively, air travel can be operated in a manner that its strengths can be fully taken advantage of. For example, by replacing old engines with cleaner ones, people can mitigate the environmental impact caused by flying. Meanwhile, aircrafts have a higher capacity, allowing greater numbers of passengers for each flight and thereby giving the best possible values to the fuel used.

In the light of the facts outlined above, substantial thought should be given to the problem of pollution caused by aircrafts. However, it does not automatically mean that air travel should be curtailed. Instead, people should make adjustments and improvements wherever appropriate to ensure the optimal use of this of travel.