Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and will use up the world s resources Do you agree and disagree

It is true that air travel is a giant consumer of the global non-renewable energies and it is linked in part to a contaminated environment. Hence, it is believed that people should limit their flights. However, from my perspective, this idea seems not to be feasible and some justifications will be given in this essay.

It is true that air travel has a devastating effect on the planet due to its exhaust fumes into the environment, however, other vehicles also cause pollution. Hence, I believe that it is impossible to ban air travel owing to its effectiveness regarding time-efficiency and safe-commuting. To be more specific, as people have to spend a large amount of time driving due to geographical distance, commuting by airplanes can be an effective alternative. Moreover, while there are only a few plane crashes around the world every year, the number of road accidents, in Vietnam for example, could be hundreds on a daily basis. As a result, air flight might be the most prefered option when it comes to long-distance transportations.

Another justification for my stance is that restricting air travel could take a heavy toll on the economy. In fact, the travel and tourism industry is the backbone of many developing and developed countries and provides employment for thousands of people. Therefore, if air travel is banned, international tourists have to rely on other means of transportation including water transports. However, this method might bring them a sense of uncomfort due to the time-inefficiency mentioned above, making them cancel their plans to go abroad. Consequently, a huge number of workers will be unemployed, causing the stagnation of these economies.

In conclusion, the limitation of air travel is impractical for the substantial benefits it produces. Hence, developing planes using more sustainable and environmentally friendly energy sources are more essential with a view to addressing the mentioned environmental problems.