Some people think the developments of technology make people’s life more complex, so we should make the life simpler without using technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past century, science and technology has developed unprecedentedly and changed every aspect of people’s life. Some people suggest a simple lifestyle without using modern technology. In my point of view, technology brings about higher efficiency and greater convenience, even though it causes confusion and disorder in certain circumstances.

The benefits of modern technology are multiple. Nobody would deny the fact that computer technology has significantly improved the productivity of the society. Automation is widely used in the assembly line, which sets free millions of people from the arduous and repetitive word in factories. Thanks to the widespread use of Internet, people have more access to information than ever before, people can acquire the information they need via online database. Moreover, emails and mobile phones enable people to keep in touch with their business partners and friends more conveniently and efficiently, compared with the old way of going to post office or visiting people in person.

However, some people show their concern that technology leads to more complexity and inconvenience. For instance, a huge amount of information on the internet if false or misleading, as the source of the information is not identified. People waste plenty of time every day in surfing the Internet, chatting on the web and deleting junk mails. Another example is genetically modified food, which poses a risk to people’s health due to the uncertainty of its security.

Despite the voice against the application of technology, I am confident that a better future of mankind lies with the future development of science and technology. It is important to be aware of the negative impact of technology, but returning to simple life without technology is by no means a solution.