Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions on matters affecting them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is argued that letting children decide on their own wills on daily activities would make them become selfish, whereas some people think it would be beneficial in the children's development process. While I accept there are persuasive arguments in favor of the former, I believe that the latter also holds true to some extent.

On the one hand, children are likely to make wrong choices if they are allowed to do what they desire. Firstly, I believe that children are innocent and they are not able to tell what is appropriate from what is not. If they are let to decide, for example, what game they would be playing, they may get themselves a violent game or a game that is not appropriate for their ages, just because they are more widely advertised. Secondly, without an adult's guidance from a young age, they may start to develop unfavorable traits, which would affect them greatly in their time growing up. This theory could be exemplified by many passion crimes committed by teenagers who lack parental guidance during their time as kids.

On the other hand, allowing children to think and choose for themselves could be influential during their growth. As parents or adults may not always be present at the time needed, it is crucial for children to be able to mature a right sense of decision-making. For instance, they could be taught to choose a healthy dish instead of fast food in their diet. Moreover, it is also important for children to develop their sense of individuality in order to embrace their uniqueness and to stand out in our colorful world today. Many plus-sized models who are not conscious of what people think they look like could be a perfect example embodied this theory.

By and large, while I support the fact that self-centered individuals could be created by allowing youngsters to decide for themselves freely too much, I also believe that is it crucial in a child's development to be able to make their own choices.