Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is impo

Children and the world around them are one the most discussed subject among the parents and people who are in touch with kids. It is an argued question whether people should assume an autonomous characteristic for their kids making decision or this point of view will result to a selfish society in future. This essay will discuss both sides of this matter.

On the one hand, it is clear that children are exposed to some different range of dangers because they can not always understand what is better for them or what kind of things they should prevent. For instance, playing with computer game is an important matter in every families nowadays; if children have not been controlled, they can be affected by serious damages only because of choosing the games which were out of their ages range. Furthermore, as the children may not think about any compensation that their choices and what kinds of side effects they have on the other people, they may do anything and this kind of behaviour will lead them to be selfish.

On the other hand, if they were allowed to make their own decisions, they would find their autonomous characteristic. In addition, the ability of leadership is another thing that kids will gain if parents let them to choose and deal with the issues. They can learn from their mistakes and try not to do them again. Finally, kids must know about the panalties which could affect them because of their choices. For example, if the child himself does not experience the worse of something because of parents who prevented him, his curiousity will remain until he experiences it himself.

All in all, although it would be safer to over care about children, in my opinion it is better to let them make their own decisions even if it is hard for parents to do such thing.