Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Today’s generation shows a great variation from the previous population and it is evident on children who are spoiled by letting them choose what they want in terms of food, clothes, and entertainment that will likely create an individual that only does things for his own benefit. But others oppose, saying that allowing children to decide for themselves is essential especially they themselves are affected. I agree that kids should have the right to decide for themselves but it does not mean that parents should tolerate them.

Decision matters after kids mature. In the first stages of a child’s development, parents must teach them what is right and not. And that includes their choice of everyday matters. Spoiled kids will possibly grow tyrant and become a burden in the society. To prevent this occurrence, discipline must be done in early stages of a child’s development. The stage of deciding will come after reaching an appropriate age.

The ability to decide for themselves can help make better choices in life as the children grow older. They will be able to become independent at a young age. Such advantage is desirable, yet, it will also result negatively on the child’s overall growth as mentioned earlier.

With this said, the probability of gaining a negative outcome is higher when kids decide for themselves due to lack of discipline. Furthermore, a good citizen not only thinks about his own but for the nation as well which means there exist a discipline since our society feeds on laws and regulations.

In conclusion, the age of a child to decide for himself must be considered.