Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

I would agree that young people today play a bigger role in society than their parents' or grandparents' generation did This is mainly due to the large social and technological changes that nave increased the experience gap between the generations. For instance, young people today are generally better educated, and because they have been trained from a young age to use computer technology, they have Internet access to information in a way that was unimaginable for earlier generations.

This means that they are probably better informed than their parents or grandparents were at their age, and their hi tech skills give them confidence in dealing with the very rapid changes in technology that are so uncomfortable for older people.

In addition, younger people are often the most affected by globalization. They follow fashions m clothes, music and social habits that are common among young people throughout the world So they have become powerful consumers who influence big global markets today.

As a result of all these developments, relationships with older people are often difficult. Teachers and parents are no longer treated with respect, and experience is undervalued. Because young people think they know everything, or at least can learn about everything from the internet In many cultures this has led to a lack of discipline in schools, family breakdowns and even serious social problems.