societal benefits of facebook

People in this generation became more inclined to the use of social networking sites which made a lot of changes in the way we interact with the people around us. The way we communicate with each other, the way we represent ourselves, the way businesses function and the way we develop social relations. These are just a few of the changes made by social networking. And one of the sites that imparted a lot in building this relation is Facebook which has approximately one billion active monthly users as of 2013. Base on this large number of users, this is proven that Facebook is beneficial to the society. So what are its benefits?

First, it creates worldwide communication which is essential in our society. With Facebook’s video chat feature, staying in contact with people over distance makes it quick and easy. In this way, you can save money for phone bills. Aside from that, this site also has a private messaging service which lets you and the person you want to talk with can communicate without the knowledge of other Facebook friends online. If you also want it to be publicized, you can directly post a status and tag the person you are trying to communicate or just simply post on his or her wall. And talking about posting, others can have an update on your current day to day activities as long as you keep on updating your status. This also helps in finding a missing person like long lost friends and relatives.

Second, it is the best portal for marketers. Without spending much money and breaking a single sweat, you can easily promote products through advertisements. Unlike other online advertising which reaches only 27% of its intended audience, Facebook can introduce you to people who’ll love your business and give an average of 91%. In short, there’s a bigger chance of succession. Fan pages can also be of greater help in maintaining your relationship with customers. By the way, fan pages are an inexpensive alternative to engaging customers on your site. With these pages you can communicate with your Fans all at once, send them invitations whenever you schedule special events. On the counterpart, each time a fan interacts with your page presents with a wealth of information which can help improve your business.

Lastly, it is a law enforcement tool. Police officers and NBI’s find Facebook very useful in solving crimes. They simply look at the public information or sometimes, they’ve gone undercover by creating fake online identities to befriend suspects and view their private information. But if there’s only less time left, and they think that there’s an imminent threat of danger, authorities request for private data to the Facebook site but they must undergo proper channels before they can have the information they need by showing a warrant. These techniques have been done for quite a while and it has slowly been catching on across the country.

With Facebook’s help, our way of living is made simpler which made us dependent on it. We cannot live without Facebook. We treat this site as an extension of our daily life routine and working style. That at least an hour a day, we spend time on Facebook. It’s like a black hole that sucks all functions needed by people which makes it hard to leave. So, with these simple proofs, we can say that Facebook plays an important role in the society.