Many people believe that the increased presence of violence in films and television these days is responsible for the rising incidents of violent crimes among youths society. They argue that governments have a duty to control the media so as to reduce this phenomenon. Do you agree with this argument?

Youth violence is a problem that many people blame on the media, which they believe should be supervised by the government. I disagree with this idea and believe instead that society itself should fix this problem.

In today’s world, young people are influenced by many things, like television, films, and websites. It is thus unreasonable to accuse only movies of increasing violence. In other words, today’s youth come across all human behaviors equally, such as violence and kindness and greed and generosity. They can witness these things in one news broadcast just as much as they can in action movie. Thus, blaming the entertainment industry is not only unfair, it is also wrong because it ignores the root cause of these behaviors. To suggest that governments should control this, then, is to avoid taking responsibility for ourselves.

Indeed, a government should not act as parents to its citizens. It exists to ensure a society can thrive, not to tell people what to do. On the other hand, parents can and must control what their children see online, in movies, or any other source. Consequently, parents must decide whether they want their children to watch a horror movie; it is not a government’s job to ban a studio from making it. Once a government controls one sphere, it will be free to act in all areas of our lives because negative influences are everywhere and have always been so. Not only will government actions not stop violence, they will likely increase it as people fight for their freedoms.

In conclusion, violence can be triggered by many things, including, but not limited to media influence. Governments should therefore not be allowed to restrict what the entertainment companies produce because they will then have to spread their control to all areas of society.