Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others.

Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding.

Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a wide range of courses that universities offer and the fees can vary from least to more expensive. In many cases, most relevant degrees that are needed by society pay more compared to others. Since there is a demand on this type of degrees to assist the society, people reckon that the government should fund the students taking up the course and irrelevant courses to remain paid by students themselves which will bring more disadvantage.

People always want equality, if the government provide funds for courses needed by society, parents will all end up letting their kids take up these funded courses. That way, they will be freed from the burden of costly tuition fees. If this happens, the government will not have enough resources to support the increasing number of students taking up the course. Furthermore, parents are removing their children’s freedom to choose their own path.

On the one hand, most students have the will to decide which careers to choose, so, not having equal rights of support from the government will end up in a disaster as students will fight for their rights especially those who are financially inadequate to support their chosen degree and need to work part-time.

Government support must be allocated equally to all courses just like what happened in MSU-IIT where current and incoming students have the privilege of less or free tuition and a monthly allowance. This is a newly implemented law by the Philippines government which earned a great impression from students and parents.

Therefore, funding courses that are helpful for the society and neglecting the rest can only infuriate people. Instead of bringing the society in order, it will just create drawbacks.