Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic has become a major concern in some countries and the government has already made regulations to control the growing number of vehicles and the pollution it has brought. Oil price hike is deemed to be the most effective control measure which I disagree for it will just make the people’s lives more difficult.

Petrol is not just needed for public transports, as well as shipping of goods. If the oil price is high, businessmen will increase the prices of their market products to retain returns of investment. Moreover, the rise in product prices will increase household expenses, allowing more people to succumb in poverty since there is low income, yet, prices of their basic needs became expensive.

The probability of a decrease in the number of vehicles is very low. Even if the oil price goes up, people will still continue using vehicles especially those whose main source of income comes from sending passengers to any destinations. Drivers will just increase the minimum fare which again will impact on the passengers. If this is the case, crime rates will inflate.

In the end, adding the price on petrol is not the most appropriate method to reduce traffic and pollution. I suggest that the government should focus more on the employment aspect of the people so that, when there are enough employed individuals, complemented by 4 P’s which is a program to help the poorest people in society, they can upgrade to building railways similar to Singapore to slowly minimize the usage of vehicles and later on completely end it, as well as to pollution.