Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

The continuous grow of traffic and pollution had been a constant problem for the past decades since the rise of the number of cars used everyday by commuters. A solution implemented by governments was the petrol price hike. I totally disagree with this as there are other ways to solve the issue.

From what I watched from the news, increasing petrol price creates more harm than good. The people who are more affected with this are not the one with private cars but the drivers of public vehicles like buses, vans, and taxis; then consequently, the public commuters. The price hike usually leads to the said drivers striking against the government, which means that will not drive for a day or two depending on the outcome. Because of this, more commuters will be stranded and may not be able to go to their work or schools. Another dilemma that may arise is that fair price will go up as well, which may end to the same situation as the previous one.

there other measures that I think would be effective in solving the problem. First, is the use of bicycles. there are countries that practiced the use of bicycles as a major mode of transportation such as The Netherlands, Germany, Korea. I believe other countries can adapt to the same thing by putting bicycle lanes on the roads to make them safer for cyclists. In my own country, the Philippines, it is becoming more popular recently. Second, the use of more public utility vehicles as these types of automobiles can carry more passengers than small and private ones. For example, twenty people going to the same destination can fit into one mini bus or van, whereas it may take 4-5 saloon cars if they choose to use those. Lastly, aside from these big public vehicles, there are alternative types that are way cheaper and eco-friendly. these include the tuktuk from Asian countries like Thailand and Myanmar, tricycles, and jeepneys from the Philippines.these are usually used for short distance travel though, but as they say, little is better than nothing.

In conclusion, i trust that the government can come up with more reasonable actions to solve traffic and pollution problems than increasing the price of petrol.