Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Currently, most people think in the present and do not consider in the future enough. Therefore, some people insist that to affect their daily lives, fuel prices ought to be raised. However, others insist that this may be worse since petrol is one of the diminishing resources on the earth. In my point of view, I do not consider it is appropriate to raise fuel prices.

It is theorized that increasing fuel price will significantly decrease fossil fuel usage, as economic impact will be forced onto current users. Raising the price will make people switch to public transport instead of driving on their own. Critics of this may occur, however, the advocates declare that this is the most efficient way to prevent great traffic and non-stop pollution issue.

Nevertheless, fuel prices are not only linked to transport, but also to food production, home heating and entertainment. A rise in prices would seriously affect the standard of living families with limited income and would mean poorer parts of society would become even poorer. Raising the price of petrol is not a proper way since the society may collapse due to the high price of living standard. Instead, the government should implement green laws to prevent excess fossil fuel usage, and search for alternative energy resources. In some countries, people are encouraged to take the electricity-driven bus to their work.

To sum up, raising the price of petrol may be an effective way to solve the issue, however, it is not the best way to do. Seeking for alternative energy resources and implement related laws are continuous ways to save our environment.