In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this case?

What can be done about this problem?

Since human civilization has developed, there is no doubt that agriculture plays a vital role. The knowledge of farming is the backbone of human nature, not only enables people to have sufficient food resource, but also boosts industrialization. However, though agriculture seems to become mature nowadays, there are still over ten thousand people starving every year. In this essay, I will discuss reasons which may cause to this, and then give some possible solutions.

The main reason that contributes to starvation is the imbalanced resource distribution and globalization. Most of the crops including coffee or tropical fruits are from Africa and Latin America. The farmers spent their most of time planting these harvests; however, they only got a little money at the end. The ingredients are sent to different places, and sell at over ten times higher prices than the farmers’ revenue. This has made a vicious cycle: the poor get poorer, and the rich get richer.

To be honest, it is inevitable to prevent people from purchasing these items. Instead, we can buy products that are supported by specific organizations. In the view of people suffering from famine, there are more and more fair-trade items come to existence. The aim of these items is to make sure the farmers will not be exploited, and be paid by fair prices. Though the changes may not appear soon, since there are more individuals concerning about this issue, those people who are starving can have a chance to live wealthier.

To sum up, the progress of globalization and international trade has accelerated the disparity between rich and poor. What individuals can do is turn to purchase fair-trade products to enable farmers to get what they should deserve.