Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people claim that traffic growth and pollution problems could be tackled by increasing the petrol cost. While I agree with this solution, I believe that others are still useful and that dealing with the price of petrol is not the best one.

For a variety of reasons, the cost of fuel could affect growing traffic and pollution of the environment. First, since people must pay a lot for petrol, they might tend to use public transport instead of traveling by their private vehicles. This means that the number of traffic vehicles could be reduced, which leads to a decrease in gas emissions. Second, by introducing a higher price on fuels, humans may limit their daily commune. In fact, people are more likely to travel when they do not have to think about the cost of moving, which conducts more traffic vehicles on the roads and therefore has a negative impact on the environment.

In my opinion, there are some solutions to the hurdles of growing traffic and polluted environment. One effective way is that governments should significantly invest in the public transport system, which could bring the public a sense of convenient and pricy. This would directly impact on the way people traveling and thence traffic growth could be reduced. Besides, it is necessary to develop some strategies to encourage people to use cleaner fuels for their cars/motorbikes instead of conventional fuels. In fact, many do not want to use cleaner fuels since they might think that it could not produce energy as good as conventional petrol. It means that the authorities should focus on how to demonstrate the effectiveness of green petrol, which could minimize the toxic gases exhausting to the environment.

In conclusion, I believe that there are many ways to solve the growing traffic as well as environmental pollution. In my point of view, rising the price of petrol is a noticeable way but it is not the best way.