Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measure do you think might be effective?

The issue of addressing the climbing traffic and contamination problems had become a pressing issue. Despite the arguments of some people that pushing the price of car fuel is the most effective way to tackle this issue, it is my personal belief that these problems can hardly be dealt with by this measure. Two principal reasons for this are as follows.

For a start, the root of the increasing number of cars and pollution problems is not about the economical factor. The one who uses the car on the road had sufficient wealth to afford the price of petrol. Rising the price of fuel is useless for interrupting them to continue driving by their own car. In addition, it is undeniable that adding the price can reduce the cars but this way just barely lower a few cars owned by individual drivers, nonetheless, the commercial needs for transportation cannot be eliminated. Even though the price of petrol increases, they have no other choices to use.

Confronted with such a thorny issue, people come up with a variety of constructive countermeasures. First of all, the government should bear the brunt of this issue by promoting the public awareness. Enhancing the citizens consciousness of using public transportation rather than cars through education, advertisement or other paths is an effective to eradicate the fundamental problem of growing traffic and contamination. Moreover, the law department can enforce stricter laws of the manipulation of the quality of petrol. some kinds of the fuel that release more poisonous substances should be banned in order to mitigate the pollution problems.

By and large it is generally believed that without immediate and effective solutions, the problem of reckless environmental harms and the burden of traffic system will undoubtedly deteriorate. it is hence high time for government specifically to take the initiative before it gets worse. As it should be, ordinary citizens like us need to make concerted efforts too.