Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities while others disagree Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views and give your opinion

In contemporary times, traffic congestion is not only a burden but also a growing concern in every city all around the world. Therefore, some cities explore an alternative way of transportation system such as bicycles to reduce the pressure of vehicles on the road. Some people support this idea and others have a dissenting comment. In the following paragraphs, both views’ advantages and disadvantages will be discussed.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that cycling has huge benefits both environmentally and healthy. First of all, bicycles do not need any gasoline, therefore no burning fuel emits from the cycle, as a result, there was no chance to pollute the environment. Moreover, according to the physician, it is a good type of exercise to keep the body fit and it also boosts the immune system of the body. For example, research shows that people who do regular cycling less suffer from heart disease and high blood pressure. On the contrary, it has some difficulties, the seat is not comfortable for all, and no flexible suspension, as a consequence, a rider has to face more jerking and it causes back pain. Furthermore, in most of the city, there is no extra lane for the cycle, since there is a chance of an accident.

On the other hand, motor vehicles are more flexible and pleasant environment such as a highly comfortable seat with air-conditioning, in addition, it has an entertaining system which helps for smooth driving. Though it can give us flexibility and comfort, it has several issues such as it is costlier than the bicycle. Burning fuel causes more air pollution as a result of global warming increases and people have to face natural disasters like storms, floods, and so on. What's more, people have suffered from various diseases like asthma. According to the WHO, every year 4. 2 million people died from air pollution.

In conclusion, to sum up all the points above, it is clear that cycling has numerous advantages from both a health and environmental perspective than automobiles. So, in my opinion, people in the city should use cycles for their daily travel.