Some people believe that the children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming students at secondary schools outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some that streaming students according to their academic abilities at secondary school are better than grouping them in mixed-ability classes. This essay will argue that drawbacks of this issue outweigh than advantages.

It cannot be denied that the streaming classes still brings benefits to both students and teachers. Teachers find it easier to teach a class in which students are all of the same ability level. Moreover, teacher will spend more times focusing on advanced lessons which help students achieve either 9 or 10 mark with ease. However, children who are studying on streaming classes are highly likely to be depressed due to countless pressures along with them. For instance, in some gifted classes in Vietnam, children have to study hard from day to day with a view to follow up the class pace and be the first rank as their parents’ expectations. Secondly, streaming them on particular subjects will make them imbalance among different subjects, resulting in lack of social skills.

In contrast, I partially believe that mix-ability will create more opportunities for students to develop in a suitably schooling environment. First of all, grouping them with a variety of abilities in same class allow them to improve another subjects rather than their academic ability. To give an example that the students who are bad at mathematical subjects but they are major in painting or drawing can learn physics or chemistry from peers. As a result, children with different abilities study together and in turn they can support each other to enhance various skills.

To sum up, although there are some advantages for students to learn in streaming classes, in my opinion, studying in mix-ability will help children develop in ultimate ways such as both social and academic skills.