Some people believe that community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example: working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports for younger children).

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that social service should be included in the curriculum of highschoolers. I strongly disagree with this idea as I believe this would put young people under pressure and make them become easy targets for ulterior motives of scam charitable organizations.

Three years of high school are one of the most crucial phases of a person's life. First, it is the most important stage for students to lay a foundation for their future, which directly affects their success later in life. They are surely engrossed in their hectic study schedule both at school and at home; therefore, as expected, not every teenager at that age has the ability to balance schooling and charity work. As a result, doing community service would soon turn into a burden to them whereas it is supposed to be voluntary work filled with willingness and generosity.

At the same time, obligatory unpaid work raises concerns about using underage labor. The number of volunteer organizations has increased roughly but lack of government's control can lead to serious consequences. It is a familiar scene on the internet where posts of disadvantaged children, degraded schools in remote areas are used to seek for support. However, not all of them are legal. Some take advantage of innocent and inexperienced youngsters to look for a free workforce. For the sake of children, what we should do when young people have free time is to encourage them to relax after hours of studying.

In conclusion, in my opinion, putting community service into high school programs may have negative effects on the well-being of children.