Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?
As the concept of education adjusts to the changing needs of the modern
society, so does the evaluation system. Mainly, the discussion on the ways of
measuring students’ performance includes the opposition of traditional exams
and continuous assessment. this essay will reveal advantages and disadvantages
of both means.
To begin with, traditional exams have proved themselves to be an efficient
and fair assessment method due to their objectivity, versatility, and
flexibility. Indeed, examination system has moved far beyond regular tests:
nowadays it’s a complex technique that evaluates not only knowledge but also
the abstract thinking and creativity. therefore exams’ importance cannot be
either underestimated or neglected. For instance, exam results are required by
schools, universities and employers all over the world in order to prove the
level of applicants’ proficiency. However, the notion of having a single
attempt for students’ performance to be measured is putting participants under
the high pressure. As a result, exams also assess the ability to cope with the
stress which sometimes distorts the veritable evaluation.
Alternative way to measure students’ performance is continuous assessment.
this method’s superiority over the traditional exams is that it excludes the
impact of external factors such as mental and physical state, adverse
circumstances and etc. Moreover, this kind of assessment forces students to
work hard throughout the whole semester, diminishing the probability of
cheating. this idea is confirmed by the examples of developed countries that
comprise continuous assessment into the grading system. Nevertheless, this
kind of assessment is more appropriate for evaluating the effort but not the
level of knowledge due to its subjectiveness.
All in all, as both examination and continuous assessment have significant
drawbacks, none of them can be used as an universal evaluation method. The
adequate strategy therefore is to combine those means in order to make
assessment efficient.