Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while other would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider prison as the institute which aim is to help the offender to rethink his/her behaviour. Other claim prison is the place where criminals are punished for their actions. This assay will discuss both opinions and will stick to the former one.

On the one hand, prison should adjust people’s behaviour, not just punish them. The intention of administrative authority is to monitor the enforcement of laws by tracking all the criminals and making the violation of law unbeneficial for them. Prison is created as the place where offenders recognize that their actions were wrong and if they had a chance not to commit a crime, they would definitely grab it. After getting out of jail criminals are not supposed to have a wish to commit a crime again.

On the other hand, the key idea of prison is making criminals to suffer for their action. Children usually stood in the corner after their insignificant offences. The same logic could be applied for significant crime but with the usage of prison not the corner. Offenders should be isolated from the world in order not to do their action again and in order to be punished for this action. According to statistics more than 50% (even 85% in Russia) of criminals committed crime again after staying in a jail. Therefore, it is difficult to imagine how prison can alter offender’s attitude to crime.In my opinion, to date prisons cannot be considered as rehabilitation centres.

To conclude, prison is supposed to be a type of rehabilitation centres while now it is rather the institute of punishment.