Some people believe that foreign visitors should be charged more than locals when they visit culture and tourist attraction in a country. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is a commonly held belief among most of the people that visitors from overseas should be charged more than the native residents when they visit tourist sites in another nation. I, hereby, do not accord with the statement and would scrutinize my viewpoint in the forthcoming discussion.

Tourism is a rapidly growing industry today where historical monuments serve as the bedrock for tourist attraction. Notably, the high prices paid by foreign tourists along with the taxes imposed on the local residents contribute to the state subsidies which is further invested in the maintenance of monuments and other tourist places. Since the locals already pay taxes for the well-being of the tourist sites hence, the foreigners should not be heavily charged for their excursion. As people like to discover and explore different nations and their rich heritage thus, disparity in prices on the basis of nationality might cause sense of discrimination among the visitors. If taken on a large scale, this may lead to bitterness in the cordial relationship between nations which would affect the tourism by reduction in population of overseas visitors.

Moreover, the after effects would not only be limited to the curtailment in tourism but would also affect the funds collected for the development of tourist attractions. Therefore, to combat this issue the government should provide a harmonious environment for the foreign visitors by levelling their ticket fares with the local residents so as to maintain equality. For instance, in Europe majority of the tourist sites offer equal charges for visitors regardless of their nationality which is an asset to their tourism industry and attracts more public.

In conclusion, the preservation of heritage through historical buildings and growth in tourism are mutually reinforcing factors. Therefore, more effort should be made to attract more foreign tourists to boost the economic growth rather than making them pay more than local residents.